Department of BioMolecular Sciences

The University of Mississippi
  • Research Award layout
    BMS Faculty_082719
    Stevens lab
    Homepage Ranking
    Photo by Robert Jordan/Ole Miss Communications
    BSA 1_082719
    BioMolecular labs.  Photo by Kevin Bain/Ole Miss Digital Imaging Services.
  • Welcome to the Department of BioMolecular Sciences!

    The Department of BioMolecular Sciences is an exciting department created in 2014 at the School of Pharmacy – a result of our efforts to stay abreast of changing times. We developed a “super” department consisting of four divisions: Environmental Toxicology, Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmacognosy and Phamacology. Through these divisions, which all have historical roots going back many years in our School, we are able to offer a broad spectrum of resources to our students and researchers, and foster a productive research and education program. We invite you to browse the website and explore all that is happening in our department.

    Recent News

    Follow us on Twitter! @OleMissBMS

    Follow us on Facebook! Department of BioMolecular Sciences

    Graduate Students Find Impacts of Freshwater in Mississippi’s Oysters

    Two graduate students standing on a boat looking at oystersFebruary 24, 2020

    OXFORD, Miss. – As Ann Fairly Barnett pulled an oyster dredge up through the shoreline waters of the Mississippi Sound, she was dreading what she was about to find.

    “Not a single living oyster,” said the University of Mississippi master’s student in environmental toxicology.

    The Jackson native, along with UM environmental toxicology graduate student James Gledhill and chemistry graduate student Austin Scircle, had chartered a small fishing boat to visit several native oyster reefs in the sound to check the water quality and the health of the reefs.

    Read More: “Graduate Students Find Impacts of Freshwater in Mississippi’s Oysters”

    Pharmacy Faculty Selected to AACP House of Delegates

    Noa ValcarcelJanuary 27, 2020

    OXFORD, Miss. – University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy faculty members David Colby and Noa Valcarcel were selected to represent the school in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy House of Delegates.

    The AACP House of Delegates is the association’s democratic policy-setting body. Representatives debate and approve statements of educational policy, approve changes to the bylaws and the strategic plan, act to accept new institutional members and establish dues for all categories of membership.

    Read More: “Pharmacy Faculty Selected to AACP House of Delegates”

    BMS Chair Named Toxicological Sciences Deputy Editor

    Kristie WillettJanuary 16, 2020

    OXFORD, Miss. – The Society of Toxicology’s official journal, Toxicological Sciences, has named Kristine Willett, chair of the Department of BioMolecular Sciences, as one of two new deputy editors to its staff.

    Willett, also a professor of pharmacology and environmental toxicology at the University of Mississippi, “will be coordinating solicitation and peer review of Forum articles and developing and administering new training for the editorial board and reviewers,” according to Editor-in-Chief Jeffrey M. Peters

    Read More: “BMS Chair Named Toxicological Science Deputy Editor”

    Pharmacy Student Presents Research to Society for Neuroscience

    Gabby Hartman stands in front of her research posterOXFORD, Miss. – A first-year University of Mississippi student pharmacist presented her scientific research at the Society for Neuroscience’s international conference in front of thousands of the world’s top neuroscientists.

    Gabby Hartman of Birmingham, Alabama, has had a passion for neuroscience since seventh grade, and now researches the effects of specific compounds on neuron regeneration after an injury.

    Read More: “Pharmacy Student Presents Research to Society for Neuroscience”

    Courtney RoperDecember 19, 2019

    OXFORD, Miss. – Exploring thunderstorm asthma and examining how Gulf Coast universities can respond to natural disasters are the focus of two new University of Mississippi seed grants funded through the Flagship Constellations initiative.

    Thunderstorm asthma is the phenomenon where pollen can break into smaller pieces during severe thunderstorms and cause asthma events. Researchers are collecting and characterizing air pollution, specifically fine particulate matter and pollen, in north Mississippi to investigate the link between air pollution and thunderstorms to better understand the occurrence.

    Read more: “Seed Grants Fund UM Research into Disaster Resilience”

    From Desert to Ocean, Toxicology Student Absorbs Marine Sponge Knowledge

    Underwater picture of rope sponges in Panama.December 16, 2019

    OXFORD, Miss. – It wouldn’t seem Amelia Clayshulte was destined to study marine sponges living in Las Cruces, New Mexico.

    However, the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy doctoral student grew up going to the coast of North Carolina with her mom’s family, where she would spend a week each summer exploring the salt marshes that opened her mind from its land-locked state.

    Read more: “From Desert to Ocean, Toxicology Student Absorbs Marine Sponge Knowledge”

    Opioid Researcher to Deliver 2019 Waller Lecture

    Closeup picture of Laura Bohn with computers displayed in background.October 8, 2019

    OXFORD, Miss. – Laura M. Bohn, professor of molecular medicine and neuroscience at The Scripps Research Institute, will deliver the 2019 Coy W. Waller Distinguished Lecture at the University of Mississippi.

    The Oct. 11 lecture, “Refining Opioid Receptor Signaling to Improve Therapeutic Potential,” will build on her nearly three decades of research into the impact of opioids on the brain. The School of Pharmacy and its Department of BioMolecular Sciences are hosting this free event at 11 a.m. at the Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts.

    Read more: “Opioid Researcher to Deliver 2019 Waller Lecture”

    John Rimoldi presents Maria Alvim Gaston with an award plaqueSeptember 23, 2019

    OXFORD, Miss. – Maria Alvim Gaston, a 2000 University of Mississippi graduate with a doctoral degree in medicinal chemistry, was named the School of Pharmacy Department of BioMolecular Sciences’ 2019 Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus Award honoree.

    Gaston, a principal research scientist at Eli Lilly and Company, delivered the Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus Lecture on September 23 with a presentation titled “A Scientist Journey—Moments of Truth.”

    Read more: “Eli Lilly Scientist Named Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus”