Program Schedule

2022 Mid-South Glycoscience Meeting

June 16, 2022

Thad Cochran Research Center, University of Mississippi

8:15 a.m.
Welcome and Presentation of Awards:  Samir Ross and Joshua Sharp

Many thanks to our sponsors:  MOBILion, Waters Corporation, Lectenz Bio, Oxford-Lafayette Chamber of Commerce, Fisher Scientific, and Avantor/VWR
Session 1 Chair: Paul Boudreau
Timekeeper: Baharul Islam
8:25 a.m.
Role of ST6GAL1-mediated sialylation in pancreatic cancer initiation
Susan Bellis, Heersink School of Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, Alabama
9:10 a.m.
Characterization of Novel Glycosphingolipids from Bacteria Using an LCMS-based Approach 
Tahir Ali, Paul Boudreau, University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi
9:30 a.m.
Analysis of Different Epimers of Glycosphingolipid LcGg4 by Ion Mobility Mass Spectrometry 
Sixue Chen, Tianqi Gao, Aneirin A. Lott, Fanran Huang, Rajendr Rohokale, Qingjiang Li, Hernando J. Olivos, Zhongwu Guo, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida
9:50 a.m.
Fast Photochemical Oxidation of Carbohydrates (FPOC) for the Characterization of Carbohydrate-Protein Interactions 
Joshua S Sharp; Sandeep K Misra; Hao Liu; Lianyan Xu; Steven D. Townsend , University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi
10:10 a.m.
Session 2 Chair: Amber Jennings
Timekeeper: Hoda Ahmed
10:25 a.m.
Biological Evaluation of Dual Responsive Glycopolymeric Nanoparticles for Intracellular Co-Delivery of Vaccine Antigen and Adjuvant
Mehjabeen Hossain, Judith U. De Mel, Oluwaseyi Shofolawe-Bakare, Karan Arora, John T. Wilson, Adam E. Smith and Thomas A. Werfel, University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi
10:45 a.m.
Poster Highlight: Progress Towards the Synthesis of an Acinetobacter Baumanii Lipooligosaccharide
James M. Armstrong II, Brandon J. Conrad, and Justin R. Ragains, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
10:55 a.m.
Poster Highlight: Engineering High-Affinity Lectenz® Reagents for the Detection and Analysis of Carbohydrates
Shaza Abnouf, Christian Gerner-Smidt, Lu Meng, Sheng-Cheng Wu, Robert J. Woods, and Loretta Yang, Lectenz Bio, Athens, Georgia
11:05 a.m.
Poster Highlight: Investigating the role of glycosylation in myocyte-environment interactions during development and disease
Joshua Bloomekatz, Tess McCann, Prashanna Koirala, Harini Saravanan, Rabina Shrestha, University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi
11:15 a.m.
Poster Session # 1
12:00 p.m.
12:30 p.m.
Poster Session #2
Session 3 Chair: Thomas Werfel
Timekeeper: Rohini Dwivedi
1:15 p.m.
Glycosyltransferase structures as modular templates for diverse glycan synthesis
Kelley W. Moremen, Jeong-Yeh Yang, Bhargavi Boruah, Digantkumar Chapla, Renuka Kadirvelraj, Aarya Venkat, Rahil Taujale, Annapoorani Ramiah, Natarajan Kannan, and Zachary A. Wood, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia
2:00 p.m.
Chemical probes for mycobacterial glycans: from tuberculosis tools to therapeutic opportunities
Ben Swarts, Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, Michigan
2:20 p.m.
Palladium-Catalyzed Stereoselective N- and C- Glycosylation Using Glycals
Qiang Zhang, University at Albany, SUNY, Albany, New York
2:40 p.m.
Programmable One-pot Synthesis of heparin sulfate and heparin-derived commercial anticoagualnts
Supriya Dey, Hong-Jay Lo, Chi-Huey Wong, Harvard University, Boston, Massachusetts

3:00 p.m.
Session 4 Chair: Murrell Godfrey
Timekeeper: Tahir Ali
3:15 p.m.
Tuning antibody-antigen binding through glycan masking
Martina CE, Schoeder CT, Gilchuk I, Crowe JE Jr, Meiler J, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
3:35 p.m.
Multiple Domains of Staphylococcal Superantigen-like Protein 11 (SSL11) Contribute to Neutrophil Inhibition
Chen Yang, Joseph T. Barbieri, Nancy M. Dahms, Chen Chen, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
3:55 p.m.
Glycosaminoglycan Based Broad Spectrum Inhibitors of Respiratory Infections
Poonam Sharma, Stephen Stray, Lance Keller, Courtney Thompson, Ritesh Tandon, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, Mississippi
4:15 p.m.
The Biological Importance of O-GalNAc Glycans
Richard D. Cummings, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts