Department of BioMolecular Sciences

The University of Mississippi

 

Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Spring 2019 Graduate Student and External Speaker Seminar Series

All Seminars located in TCRC 2066

 Tuesdays at 11:00 am

 Thursdays at 10:30 am

(Titles will be posted as they become available. Changes are noted in red.)

 

 

Speaker Title Date
Dr. David Colby Course Introduction and Policies  January 22, Tuesday
Dr. Michio Kurosu
The University of Tennessee
Health Science Center         Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Guest Speaker
Host: Josh Sharp
Discovery of Selective Phosphotransferase Inhibitors for
Antibacterial or Anticancer Chemotherapeutics
January 24, Thursday
No Seminar No Seminar January 29, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar January 31, Thursday

Nick Akins

Sweta Adhikari

Design and Development of Salvinorin-based Ligands for Opioid Receptors
Development of a Synthetic Route Towards the Fluorinated 1,2,3-Triazoles
February 5, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar February 7, Thursday

Hanan Albataineh

James Gledhill

Investigating the Production of Quorum Sensing Molecules from Myxobacteria
Gene Expression Analysis in the Eastern Oyster (Crassostrea virginica) Exposed to Hypoxic Conditions
February 12, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar February 14, Thursday

Erik Hodges

Stephanie Burr

Cannabinoid Hormesis and Aging Circadian Rhythms
Extracellular Matrix Components Isolated from Diabetic Mice Alters Cardiac Fibroblast Function Through the AGE/RAGE Signaling Cascade
February 19, Tuesday
Mahavir Chougule, Ph.D., M. Pharm., B.Pharm.
University of Mississippi
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery
Guest Speaker
Host: David Colby
Targeted Nanocarriers for the Treatment of Lung Cancer February 21, Thursday
Amelia Clayshulte
Amber Kay
Detecting Environmental Stress through Sponge Caloric Budgets
Diabetes-mediated Vascular Calcification is RAGE-dependent
February 26, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar February 28, Thursday
Cody Cissom Prolylcarboxypeptidase in Obesity and Metabolic Syndrome March 5, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar March 7, Thursday
No Seminar No Seminar March 12, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar March 14, Thursday

Md Imdadul


Zachary Miller

Development of Nonpeptidomimetic cancer drug with dual activity against cellular inhibitor of apoptosis protein I (cIAP) and X-Linked inhibitor of apoptosis protein (XIAP)
Behavioral testing following early-life cannabinoid exposure in zebrafish
March 19, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar March 21, Thursday
Tomayo Berida
Zhi Selina Cheng
TBD March 26, Tuesday
Dr. Jason Kwan
Assistant Professor
University of Wisconsin–Madison
Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Guest Speaker
Host: Dale Nagle
Exploring the Biosynthetic Potential of Uncultured Microbes March 28, Thursday
Alysia Gonzales
Salahuddin Mohammed
TBD April 2, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar April 4, Thursday
Hayley Prescott
Alaa Qrareya
TBD April 9, Tuesday
Dr. Nicole Riddle
Assistant Professor
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Department of Biology
Guest Speaker
Host: Nicole Ashpole
TBD April 11, Thursday
William Vignovich
Ann Barnett
TBD April 16, Tuesday
Dr. George Howell
Assistant Professor
Mississippi State University
College of Veterinary Medicine
Department of Basic Sciences

Guest Speaker
Host: Jamie Stewart
TBD April 18, Thursday
Maali Alshammari TBD April 23, Tuesday
Dr. Davita Watkins
University of Mississippi
Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Guest Speaker
Host: Sudeshna Roy
TBD April 25, Thursday
TBD TBD April 30, Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar May 2, Thursday
Allyn C. Howlett, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Guest Speaker
Host: David Colby
TBD May 14, Tuesday