Department of BioMolecular Sciences

The University of Mississippi

 

Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Spring 2018 Graduate Student and External Speaker Seminar Series

All Seminars located in TCRC 2066

 Tuesdays at 11 am

 Thursdays at 10 am

(Titles will be posted as they become available. Changes are noted in red.)

 

 

Speaker Title Date
Moneerah Alqahtani A Search for Small Molecule Inhibitors of S100B  January 23, Tuesday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR January 25, Thursday
Disha Prabhu Role of Astrocytic IGF-1 in Regulation of Learning and Memory January 30, Tuesday
Dr. David Colby Introduction to Seminar & Presentation Skills February 1, Thursday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR February 6, Tuesday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR February 8, Thursday
Thanh-Thanh Claire Tran Screening of Anti-cell Proliferative Activity of a Collection of Plant Extracts Belonging to Annonaceae Family and their Activity Towards NRF-2/ARE Pathway
February 13, Tuesday

AyoOluwa Aderbigbe

 

Barbara Adaikpoh

Peripherally-restricted CB1 Blockers
 Production of Cryptic Metabolites from Predatory  Archangiaceae in Response to Quorum Sensing Signal Interception
February 15, Thursday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR February 20, Tuesday

Mohammed Riaz

 

Mohammed Hawwal

Developing Hydroxyl Radical Footprinting as a Screening Technology

Phytochemical Investigation of Mimosa pigra
February 22, Thursday
Dr. Alexander Perryman
Senior Researcher; Center for Emerging & Re-emerging Pathogens
Department of Pharmacology, Physiology and Neuroscience
Rutgers University-NJ Medical School
Guest Speaker

Novel Computational Approaches to Chemical Tool Discovery and Translational Research for Infectious Diseases
February 27, Tuesday
TBD TBD
March 1, Thursday
Dr. Trent E. Balius
Postodoctoral Scholar, University of California
Shoichet Lab, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Guest Speaker

Expanding Accessible Chemical Space for Ligand Discovery
March 5, Monday
10:00 am
TCRC 1044

Shukria Akbar

 

Niloofar Khaje

Activation of Cryptic Metabolic Space of Predatory Cystobacter ferrugineus Cbfe23 and Myxococcus xanthus by Quorum Sensing Molecules
Probing the Interaction of COSMC with T-synthase Peptide Using Hydroxyl Radical Protein Footprinting by Fast Photochemical Oxidation of Proteins
March 6, Tuesday
Dr. Michael Garrett
Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Associate Professor of Medicine (Nephology),
Director, Institutional Molecular and Genomics Core Facility (MGCF), University of Mississippi Medical Center

Guest Speaker
Host: Kristie Willett
Genetics, Animal Models, and Therapeutics for Human Diseases March 8, Thursday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR March 13, Tuesday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR March 15, Thursday

Hao Liu

Stephanie Burr

Study the Structure and Function Relationship of Heparin/Heparan Sulfate
Rap1a Intersects the AGE/RAGE Signaling Cascade
March 20, Tuesday
Dr. Alberto del Arco Gonzalez
Assistant Professor of Health, Exercise Science, and Recreation Management, University of Mississippi
Guest Speaker
Host: Nicole Ashpole
Prefrontal cortex neuronal representation of cognitive flexibility and stress response March 22, Thursday

Jawaher Alkhamisy

 

Ibrahim Almarabi

Inhibition of Fatty Acid Desaturation is Detrimental to Cancer Cell Survival in Metabolically Compromised Environments


Anti-inflammatory Prenylated Phenylpropenols and Coumarin Derivatives from Murraya exotica1

March 27, Tuesday
NO SEMINAR NO SEMINAR March 29, Thursday

Maali Alshammari

Nicholas Akins

The Application of Carbon-Silicon Switch Strategy in Medicinal Chemistry
The Inhibition of Glycolysis: Glucose Transporter as a Potential Anticancer Target
April 3, Tuesday
Dr. Richard Lee
Member, St. Jude Faculty, Interim Chair, Chemical Biology & Therapeutics
Adjunct Professor, University of Tennessee Health Science Center, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Guest Speaker
Host: Sudeshna Roy
Nature versus nurture; Developing therapeutics for chronic bacterial infection April 5, Thursday

Reem Alkhodier

Sweta Adhikari

The Potential for Using 2-azaspiro[3.3]heptane Analogs in Drug Design
Fluorinated Heterocycles in Drug Discovery
April 10, Tuesday
Cody Wilson
Senior Director at The Coca-Cola Company
Guest Speaker
Host: Kristie Willett
Risk Assessment and Toxicology in the Food Industry April 12, Thursday

Hanan Albataineh

 

 

Eric Hodges

Stereospecific Formation of Di- and Trisubstituted Double Bonds by the Successive Action
of Ketoreductase and Dehydratase Domains in Polyketide Synthases
Cannabinoids: Applications in the Aging Brain
April 17, Tuesday
Munia Sowaileh Fluorinated Organic Molecules for Medicinal Applications April 17, Tuesday 12:30 pm
TCRC 2066
Dr. Ralph D. Sanderson
Professor of Pathology, Division of Molecular & Cellular Pathology, The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Guest Speaker
Host: Josh Sharp
Heparanase-mediated regulation of exosomes that promote tumor progression and chemoresistance April 19, Thursday
Michael Cunningham Synthetic Investigation of Natural Products Causing Dopaminergic Neurodegeneration April 20, Friday 8:00 am
TCRC 2066

Amelia Clayshutle

 

Ann Fairly Barnett

Environmental stress restructures host microbiome and secondary metabolism in marine sponges

Effects of the biocide tributyltin (TBT) on the physiological processes and mechanisms of oysters (Crassostrea sp.)

April 24, Tuesday
TCRC 1044
Kelsey McPherson Synthesis and Evaluation of Dual-Acting Ligands for Mu Opioid and Neuropeptide FF Receptors April 24, Tuesday 3:30 pm
TCRC 2066
Dr. Donna Gordon
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Mississippi State University
Guest Speaker
Host: Jamie Stewart
Characterizing the antifungal occidiofungin: The hunt for its biological target April 26, Thursday
Najla Alzaid Exploring novel botanical ingredients for cosmetics – Efficacy and Safety of Triterpenes April 30, Monday
8:30 am
TCRC 1044

James Gledhill

 

Zachary Miller

Immunological role of hemocytes and thymosin-β protein in oysters and effects of environmental stressors on oyster immune function
Using the zebrafish scn1lab model to study drug resistant epilepsy
May 1, Tuesday
Dr. Jared Delcamp
Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Mississippi
Guest Speaker
Host: David Colby
Small Molecules for Photon Management in NIR and SSM Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells May 3, Thursday