School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

pharmacy alumni

Three Pharmacy Alumni Named to 40 Under 40 List

Recipients honored for professional, philanthropic achievements

OXFORD, Miss. – Three alumni of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy have been named to the Ole Miss Alumni Association’s annual 40 Under 40 list.

Caroline Bobinger, Anna Touchstone and Andrew Mays are each featured on the association’s 2024 list, which celebrates the personal, professional and philanthropic achievements of successful university graduates.

“We are so proud of this incredible group of alumni, who are each absolutely deserving of this recognition,” said Donna Strum, dean of the School of Pharmacy. “There is nothing more rewarding than seeing graduates of our school go on to flourish in their careers and make an impact in their communities.”

Bobinger is a clinical pharmacy specialist at Mississippi Baptist Medical Center in Jackson. She manages patients with diabetes throughout the hospital as head of the inpatient Diabetes Management Team. She previously worked at Saint Dominic Hospital, where she also completed her PGY1 pharmacy residency.

She received a bachelor’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences from the university in 2014 and her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the School of Pharmacy in 2017. Bobinger became a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist in 2020.

“It is a tremendous honor to be selected among these amazing honorees who have made a significant impact on society since graduating from Ole Miss,” she said.

Touchstone serves as the central pharmacy supervisor at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson. She is actively involved in multiple professional organizations, including the Mississippi Pharmacists Association, for which she currently serves as member-at-large on the executive board.

Dedicated to working with students, Touchstone also serves as the new practitioner mentor for the American Pharmacists Association student chapter at the School of Pharmacy and contributes to precepting pharmacy students at UMMC.

“I am truly humbled to be recognized with this award, especially alongside Andrew and Caroline,” Touchstone said. “I have had the opportunity to work with and learn from both of them, and I respect them for all they have accomplished and all they do for the profession.

“My time at the Ole Miss School of Pharmacy holds such a special place in my heart, so I’m honored to be able to represent pharmacy in this amazing group of alumni.”

Mays serves as a clinical assistant professor of pharmacy practice at the UM School of Pharmacy as well as a medical science liaison in parenteral nutrition for Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC.

He received his bachelor’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences from the university in 2010 and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2012. He also earned a master of business administration degree in 2022.

“This award allows young alumni from all career areas to come together and network while celebrating each person’s accomplishments,” Mays said. “It is truly an honor.”

This year’s 40 Under 40 recipients will be recognized with a ceremony on April 12 as part of Young Alumni Weekend.

By Natalie Ehrhardt