School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Pharmacy Matters logo

September 2020

Two men work on lab equipment, talking to each other.

$10.5M Grant Creates Glycoscience Research Center at Pharmacy School

The University of Mississippi has received a $10.5 million Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence Phase I grant from the National Institutes of Health to establish a new center dedicated to glycoscience.

Stuart HainesUM Professor Becomes National Pharmacy Association President-Elect

Stuart Haines was installed as president-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy during the organization’s annual meeting.

Emily TschumperPharmacy School Welcomes Emily Tschumper to Faculty

Emily Tschumper joined the school faculty after serving as residency program director and emergency medicine pharmacist at North Mississippi Medical Center.


Kristie WillettBMS Chair Receives AACP Graduate Education Award

Kristie Willett has been named the inaugural recipient of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s Graduate Education Special Interest Group Achievement Award.

Sharing the Positivity

Group of student pharmacists standing behind a tableGenerations of professionals have been prepared by the Ole Miss School of Pharmacy to provide crucial patient care. We will maintain that high standard of education excellence, but the Class of 2024 will have a much different journey than those who came before them. COVID-19 has changed the learning and practice environments, bringing with it some additional financial costs. Show your support and share the positivity by helping provide essential medical equipment and the traditional white coat for our incoming students. Donate now through Ignite!

Social Media Moments

Two greenhouses pictured from the outside with blue sky and clouds overhead.Thanks to Derek Oglesby, Facilities Planning, our architects and contractor, a new greenhouse is in place at the garden! Despite a short turnaround and pandemic, it was done on time and looks great.

Laurie FlemingCongrats to Laurie Fleming on being selected as a 2020 Friend of the Student Award recipient by the Ole Miss Pharmacy student body!

Dean David D. AllenIt’s back-to-school time! While most of our classes will be taught virtually, Dean Allen is reminding everyone to follow the guidelines in place, including wearing a mask. Read more of the Dean’s Message on our website.


Want to help aspiring pharmacists learn more about the profession? Join us on PharmChats, our new video series on YouTube! Watch our recent episodes, or contact to let her know how you want to help.

Seena Haines will be presenting “The Road to Resilience” as part of the Ole Miss Alumni Association’s expert speaker series. She will focus on health and well-being during this public health crisis. The event is open to the public and will take place via Zoom on Sept. 4 at 11 a.m. CT. Register here.

Be a Champion for Ole Miss Pharmacy and mentor future pharmacists! More information here: