School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Pharmacy Matters logo

May 2018

Dean David D. Allen presents Percy Malone with the Alumnus of the Year award.

State senator, state representative, pharmacist and UM alumnus — of all Percy Malone’s (BSPh 65) titles, the one he is most proud of is advocate. Read more.

Watch his Alumnus of the Year award video here.

Lee Jennings, Blake Thompson, Hartman Lecture Alumnus Surprises Student Pharmacist by Covering Tuition

Blake Thompson, the 2018 Hartman lecturer for the UM School of Pharmacy, surprised a crowd of student pharmacists, faculty, friends and family at the March 9 lecture by offering to cover a semester’s worth of tuition for one student. Read More.

Regan TylerPharmacy Student Elected Speaker of National Professional Society

Regan Tyler, a third-year student at the UM School of Pharmacy, was elected as Phi Lambda Sigma’s speaker of the house during the organization’s national meeting, held in conjunction with the American Pharmacists Association annual meeting in Nashville, Tennessee. Read More.

ICSB SpeakerBotanical Experts Gather in Oxford for International Conference

Scientists and visitors from around the globe gathered in Oxford April 9-12 for the 18th annual International Conference on the Science of Botanicals. Read More.


Anna Crider presents research at national conferenceStudent Pharmacists Present Research at National Conference

Five UM School of Pharmacy students each presented their own research at the recent American Pharmacists Association annual meeting in Nashville, Tennessee. Read More.

Seena Haines Pharmacy Practice Chair Elected Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow

Seena Haines, chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the UM School of Pharmacy, has been elected a Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow of the National Academies of Practice in Pharmacy, a subgroup of NAP. Read More.


Alex GochenauerUM Pharmacy Student Wins National Leadership Scholarship

Alex Gochenauer, third-year student at the UM School of Pharmacy, was awarded the American College of Apothecaries Presidential Scholarship for Academic and Leadership Excellence. Read More.


Laurie Fleming, Joshua Fleming and Stuart Haines helped to create the PharmacyForward podcast. UM Division of Pharmacy Professional Development Launches New Website

The School of Pharmacy’s Division of Pharmacy Professional Development has created a new online portal for continuing professional development programs that will deliver online educational programs to pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. Read More.


  Social Moments

Karthik Yadav JangaCongrats to doctoral student Karthik Yadav Janga, winner of the @UnivMsGraduate‘s Graduate Achievement Award in Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery!




Pharmacy OlympicsThe #olemisspharmacy world united for fun and games at the Pharmacy Olympics. Congrats to the PY2s on taking the ‘ship!




Dean Allen_Awards Day

We had a great day celebrating all the success of our students and faculty at Awards Day!





Yujing ZhangCongrats to Yujing Zhang, a finalist for the 2018 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award! It’s the highest UM honor for public service, recognizing volunteer work in the local community.




P3s talking to P2s

P3s tell P2s what to expect at the @UMMCnews campus in Jackson. In this new environment, students will use skills they’ve studied to make a greater impact on patients’ health in some of the state’s most advanced health care settings.



Pharmacy Showcase_Jackson

Another successful Pharmacy Showcase in the books! Thanks to everyone for coming to our Jackson event!





May 1 is the deadline for UM freshmen not in the Early Entry program to apply for the School of Pharmacy’s Sophomore Advanced Standing Program. More information here.

Ole Miss Pharmacy is accepting applications for Summer College. Rising high school seniors can learn about university life and the pharmacy profession through the month-long program. More information here.

The School of Pharmacy’s graduation ceremony is May 12 at 11 a.m. at the Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts. More information here.

Be a Champion for Ole Miss Pharmacy and mentor future pharmacists! More information here: