School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Pharmacy Matters logo

July 2021

Kayla Stover, Jordan Ballou, Joshua Sharp, Sujith Ramachandran

Faculty, Researchers Recognized for Excellence

The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy recognized four of its faculty members for their excellence in and commitment to teaching, service and research during its annual faculty retreat. Kayla Stover and Jordan Ballou from the Department of Pharmacy Practice were recognized, along with Joshua Sharp from the Department of BioMolecular Sciences and Sujith Ramachandran from the Department of Pharmacy Administration.

Donna StrumDonna Strum Named Interim Dean

Donna Strum, associate provost and professor of pharmacy administration at the University of Mississippi, will serve as interim dean of the School of Pharmacy and executive director of the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Get to know her in this article.

Loree Allen receives her flu shot from a female pharmacy student.Loree Allen Remembered

The outpouring of gifts to the Loree Goheen Allen Memorial Scholarship Endowment in the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy now totals more than $66,000 and reflects the love and appreciation family members, friends and colleagues had for her. The scholarships will be awarded to pharmacy students who exhibit a strong commitment to service.


Colorized SEM image of a centric diatomUM Research Scientist Creates Award-Winning Images

Vijayasankar Raman, director of the Microscopy and Imaging Center at the UM School of Pharmacy, is creating some really cool images and winning awards in the process. See more of Raman’s images, and learn how he makes them.

Sharing the Positivity

As Ole Miss pharmacy students make their way through school, they are fortunate to receive guidance and assistance from the faculty and staff. One such staff member is Peggy Duke. Get to know Duke in this Q&A.

Social Media Moments

Groups of people sitting at tablesWe had a little phamily reunion last month. It was great to see everyone!

Group of students standing and smilingLoved seeing so many of our stellar students at the Mississippi Pharmacists Association Annual Convention!

Two students sitting at a table and smiling

Thank you to our student ambassadors for representing the School of Pharmacy at the Boys State College Day!


Alan J. Zillich, Pharm.D., William S. Bucke Professor and head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Purdue University College of Pharmacy, talked during a PharmacyForward podcast about getting work published: from identifying great ideas and collaborating to writing and revising your manuscript. PharmacyForward is produced by the Division of Pharmacy Professional Development at the School of Pharmacy.

Want to help aspiring pharmacists learn more about the profession? Join us on PharmChats, our new video series on YouTube! Watch our recent episodes, or contact to let her know how you want to help.

Be a Champion for Ole Miss Pharmacy and mentor future pharmacists! More information here: