School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Pharmacy Matters logo

April 2018

Ross Bjork and pharmacy students


Thanks to @RossBjorkAD (and our great student extras) for helping out on our video shoot for the Pharmacy Showcase! Read more.

Pharmacy Showcase; Lindsey Cooper

Pharmacy School Hosts Browse Fair for Aspiring Pharmacists

The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy will host pharmacy showcases across the state this spring to educate aspiring pharmacists about the over 600 career paths available in the field of pharmacy. Read More.


C. Daniel MullinsCommunity Health the Focus of 2018 Waller Lecture

C. Daniel Mullins, professor and chair of the Pharmaceutical Health Services Research Department at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, will deliver the 2018 Coy W. Waller Distinguished Lecture at the University of Mississippi. Read More.


Ikhlas KhanNatural Products Center Director Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Ikhlas Khan, director of the National Center for Natural Products Research at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, is the winner of AOAC International’s 2018 Harvey W. Wiley Award, which recognizes lifetime scientific achievement. Read More.


Frank GilmoreFormer Pharmacy Chair Remembered for Integrity, Leadership

Frank Gilmore, former chair and professor emeritus in the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy’s Department of BioMolecular Sciences, died Feb. 14 after a lengthy battle with lymphoma.Read More.


Purnendu Sharma and S. Murthy Pharmaceutics Grad Student Wins Scholarship for Alzheimer’s Research

Purnendu Sharma, a fourth-year Ph.D. student in S. S. Narasimha Murthy’s labratory of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy’s Department of Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery, received an Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation Young Investigator Scholarship for his research on the natural product, Resiniferatoxin, or RTX. Read More.


Hoang LeTwo Pharmacy Faculty Win New Investigator Awards

Two assistant professors in the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, both from the Department of BioMolecular Sciences, have won prestigious 2018 New Investigator Awards from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. Read More.


Bharathi Avula

Pharmaceutics Grad Student Wins Scholarship for Alzheimer’s Research

The National Center for Natural Products Research received an award of over $225,000 from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation to study the ingredients found in popular dietary supplements used by military personnel. Read More.


  Social Moments

Black Alumni Reunion, Dean AllenWe had a great time visiting with alums at the UM Black Alumni Reunion! #BAR18





Chancellor at Board of Visitors ReceptionThank you to Chancellor and Mrs. Vitter for talking with our Board of Visitors before the board discussed the School of Pharmacy’s potential to offer increased rural health care.




Olympics SOP diversity graphic

With the world united in PyeongChang for the Olympics, #olemisspharmacy has its own international flavor with a diverse group of students, faculty, staff and visiting scholars.




Scott MalinowskiCongrats to Scott Malinowski, clinical assistant professor of pharmacy practice, on being named the #olemisspharmacy 2018 Nelson Order recipient and Regions Bank TEACH Prize nominee!




Jordan Smith research poster

PY4 Jordan Smith won the University of Mississippi Medical Center Research Poster Competition in January. The poster, “Public Perceptions of Naloxone Use in the Outpatient Setting,” was on display at the Rowland Medical Library in February.



Pharmacy Day at the Capitol

#olemisspharmacy provided health screenings and toured the Capitol for Pharmacy Day. Thanks to our state legislators for making pharmacy a priority in Mississippi!




Jamie Wagner, clinical assistant professor of pharmacy practice at the University of Mississippi School of PharmacyProfessor Jamie Wagner wrote about pharmacists’ potential to help doctors avoid unnecessarily prescribing antibiotics to patients in long-term care facilities by using antimicrobial stewardship programs.




Pharmacy Alumni Weekend is April 20-21. Contact Scott Thompson at for more information and registration.

May 1 is the deadline for UM freshmen not in the Early Entry program to apply for the School of Pharmacy’s Sophomore Advanced Standing Program. More information here.

Be a Champion for Ole Miss Pharmacy and mentor future pharmacists! More information here: