School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Pharmacy Alumnae Named AACP Walmart Scholar

Posted on: May 27th, 2020 by pmsmith

May 27, 2020

OXFORD, Miss. – Elizabeth Hearn, an alumnae of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, has been named a 2020 Walmart Scholar by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Walmart Scholars Program.

The honor and accompanying $1,000 scholarship are given to recipients who are committed to a career in academic pharmacy.

Photo of Elizabeth Hearn

Elizabeth Hearn

Hearn, a native of Senatobia and 2019 Doctor of Pharmacy graduate, is a resident at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. She said being selected as a Walmart Scholar is the “highest honor.”

“Over the course of this year as a resident, I’ve had the opportunity to work as a co-preceptor for multiple student pharmacists,” Hearn said. “While I may know plenty of drug information, sharing that knowledge in easy-to-understand, highly-effective teaching pieces to students can be difficult.

“To be accepted into a program that wants to strengthen those skills really means the world to me, and I’m eternally grateful for the opportunity to become a stronger teacher.”

Hearn, who is a member of the School of Pharmacy’s Hall of Fame, earned multiple leadership and academic honors as a student pharmacist. She also served as president of her pharmacy class for three years.

Walmart Scholars are named in conjunction with a faculty member who has encouraged the student throughout his or her pharmacy school career. Hearn’s faculty mentor was Meagan Brown, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice.

“Dr. Hearn has always been interested in academia, something she expressed to me as a student,” Brown said. “She has a compassionate, persistent approach in teaching, which will take her very far. I’m excited about her opportunity to learn more about teaching and learning as an AACP Walmart Scholar.”

Hearn joined pharmacy administration graduate student Wesley Sparkmon on the Walmart Scholars list, giving Ole Miss 12 straight years with an honoree. Ole Miss recipients have earned the scholarship 14 of the 16 years it has been given.