School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Two UM Pharmacy Faculty to Lead Mississippi Pharmacists Association

Posted on: July 31st, 2018 by herman

July 31, 2018

By Conner Mounger

OXFORD, Miss. – The Mississippi Pharmacists Association welcomed two University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy faculty members into leadership positions for the organization.

Lauren Bloodworth

Lauren Bloodworth

Lauren Bloodworth, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice, will serve as the organization’s president for the 2018-2019 term, while Phil Ayers, also a clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice, is now MPhA’s interim executive director.

“For years, I have been proud to serve alongside our tremendous pharmacy family, and I am honored by the opportunity to serve as the next president of the Mississippi Pharmacists Association,” Bloodworth said.

Phil Ayers

Phil Ayers

Mississippi Pharmacists Association connects pharmacists from all areas of the pharmacy profession to each other and with other health care professions to promote pharmacy and patient welfare across the state.

Both Ayers and Bloodworth are graduates of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy. Ayers joined the school in 1997 after graduating in 1996. Bloodworth graduated in 2000 and came on the school’s faculty in 2008.

David D. Allen, dean of the School of Pharmacy and ex officio member of MPhA’s Executive Committee, said the School of Pharmacy was “very proud” to have Ayers and Bloodworth lead the organization.

“Lauren and Phil are both extremely dedicated to bolstering Mississippi’s pharmacy landscape and are natural fits for these positions,” Allen said.