School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Pharmacy Practice Chair Elected as Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow

Posted on: April 13th, 2018 by tressa

April 13, 2018

By Sydney Slotkin DuPriest

JACKSON, Miss. – Seena Haines, chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, has been elected a Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow of National Academies of Practice in Pharmacy, a subgroup of NAP.

Fellowship in NAP is reserved for those who have spent 10 or more years of their career in the practice and delivery of health care services and who are judged by their peers to have made enduring contributions to their professions.

Seena Haines

Seena Haines

NAP’s goal is to gather these health care leaders to work as an interdisciplinary force that advises health care policy makers and promotes quality health care through advocacy, practice, education and research.

“I am honored to be elected a Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow in National Academies of Practice,” Haines said. “It is the only interprofessional group of practitioners dedicated to practice advancement, advocacy and policy reform.”

Haines has worked in pharmacy academia for over 15 years, having joined UM as the pharmacy practice chair in 2016 after serving as senior associate dean for faculty at Palm Beach Atlantic University.

“This is a great honor for our School of Pharmacy and a well-deserved recognition of Seena’s leadership in our school,” said David D. Allen, dean of the pharmacy school.

Haines will be inducted as Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow at NAP’s 2018 Annual Meeting & Forum April 13-14 in Atlanta.