School of Pharmacy News & Media Center
The University of Mississippi

Ole Miss Pharmacy Faculty Elected as MCCP Officers

Posted on: March 14th, 2018 by herman

March 14, 2018

By Whitney Tarpy

OXFORD, Miss. – The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy is well represented within the Mississippi College of Clinical Pharmacy organization, as four UM faculty members were elected as officers of the state chapter of American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

Seena Haines

Seena Haines

Seena Haines, Katie Barber, Jamie Wagner and Melissa Reilly, all with faculty appointments in the school’s Department of Pharmacy Practice, will serve as MCCP officers during 2018. Haines, chair of the pharmacy practice department, is the organization’s president. Barber, assistant professor, is president-elect, while Wagner and Reilly, both clinical assistant professors, serve as treasurer and secretary, respectively.

“I hope to provide members of MCCP an association home where they can network with colleagues and draw upon similar interests to help advance clinical practice in our state,” Haines said. “Our programming efforts will target our students, residents and the diverse practice experience of our members.”

In an effort to fulfill ACCP’s and MCCP’s joint mission of promoting patient care that optimizes medication therapy and promotes health, wellness and disease prevention, Haines hopes to provide MCCP members with timely and relevant content that can support their work with patients and diverse learners.

“It’s an exciting time to be leading this organization,” Haines said. “We will be examining the evolving health care needs of our citizens of Mississippi and direct patient-care opportunities through comprehensive, cost effective and high-quality care.”

“The School of Pharmacy and MCCP are fortunate to benefit from the expertise of these committed faculty members,” said David D. Allen, dean of the School of Pharmacy. “They are all improving health care in our state from a multi-faceted and experienced point of view.”