Dean's Advisory Council

Learn more about the group of real-world pharmacy leaders that help shape our institution.

Pharmacy Leaders

The Dean’s Advisory Council is a distinguished group of pharmacy and industry leaders, alumni, and friends of the SOP whose purpose is to help the School fulfill its vision to improve health and wellness in the world through innovation and leadership. Council members are dedicated to using their success, expertise, experience, network, and resources to help the School elevate its excellence by:

  • Serving as an advocate and champion for the SOP to increase the impact, visibility, and reputation of the SOP
  • Providing guidance, perspectives, and sustainable ideas related to pharmacy education and strategic initiatives in the areas of program development, career preparation, diversity and equity, research, alumni and donor engagement, and more
  • Engaging with pharmacy and graduate students and supporting their professional growth
  • Assisting SOP leadership in building and strengthening external relationships with alumni, industry, government, healthcare organizations, and other key stakeholders to help the SOP grow
  • Promoting SOP activities and strategic initiatives to obtain financial support

Council members have an interest in pharmacy education and advancing pharmacy and the pharmaceutical sciences and are committed to contributing their professional expertise, experience, leadership, and resources to advance the SOP and extend its impact.

Council membership is by invitation of the Dean and represents the various missions of the SOP. The Council will meet on campus twice annually to work collaboratively with the Dean and SOP leadership to advocate for the School, to provide guidance, to engage with students, to assist in networking, and to garner support for SOP activities. Additionally, the Council does not engage in the administrative or management affairs of the School and does not have any fiduciary responsibilities. Council members are responsible for their own hotel and travel to the meetings.

Meet the Council

Below, you will find a list of active council members.
Current Council Members
Amit PatelVice President – PRMA Strategic Initiatives and OperationsIndegene, Oxford, MS
Bill CalhounClinical Affairs ManagerProgressive Medical, Inc
Billy BrownClinical Pharmacy SpecialistVA Medical Center, Jackson, MS
Blake ThompsonPresidentMississippi College, Clinton, MS
Charles “Nate” SmithChief Pharmacy ServiceVA Medical Center, Biloxi, MS
Cheryl SudduthPharmacy OwnerFunderburk’s Pharmacy, Hernando, MS
Chris AyersSystem Clinical Pharmacy ManagerSinging River Health System, Ocean Springs, MS
Chris McLaurinDistrict Leader, PharmacyCVS Health, Jackson, MS
Craig SartinPharmacy OwnerSartin’s Discount Drugs, Long Beach, MS
David RogersSt. Jude Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical SciencesDepartment of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, TN
Doug HoeyChief Executive OfficerNCPA, Alexandria, VA
Doug PaulVice PresidentSpine BioPharma, New York
Earl PacePharmacy RecruiterRite Aid, Columbus, MS
Edward WooPharmacy InformaticsVanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
Hillary BlackburnFounder and Podcast Host, Chief Pharmacy OfficerTalk to Your Pharmacist Podcast Host, Dispensary of Hope, Nashville, TN
Jameika StuckeyDirector, Cardiology & Metabolism TeamPfizer, Jackson, MS
Jeff PorterNational DirectorKroger Health Central Region
Jillian FosterSystem Pharmacy AdministratorBaptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Memphis, TN
Kyla LeonCritical Care PharmacistUMMC, Jackson, MS
Laurin DixonLead Executive, Medicare ProductsArkansas Blue Cross Blue Shield, Little Rock, AR
Mona S. McBrideExecutive DirectorMPhA, Jackson, MS
Pam MilesDirector of Pharmacy ServicesMerit Health-Wesley, Hattiesburg, MS
Pearl Wales-PeytonPharmacistVA Medical Center, Canton, MS
Peter RossPharmacist, Owner – Ross Pharmacy ConsultingBaptist Hospital, Oxford, MS
Phil AyersChief of Clinical Pharmacy ServicesMS Baptist Health System, Jackson, MS
Richard FarisChief Operating OfficerPantherx Rare Pharmacy, Pittsburgh, PA
Robert DozierExecutive DirectorMIPA, Jackson, MS
Robert H. LomenickOwner and PharmacistTyson Drugs Holly Springs, MS
Stan WilliamsVP of US SalesEGG Medical, Dallas, TX
Susan CantrellChief Executive OfficerAMCP, Washington, DC
Susan McCoyExecutive DirectorMS Board of Pharmacy Jackson, MS
Tripp DixonClinical Pharmacy SpecialistMS Baptist Health System, Jackson, MS