Dr. Donna Strum

Posted on: August 26th, 2014 by
Interim Dean of the School of Pharmacy,
Interim Executive Director of the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences,
Professor of Pharmacy Administration,
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
TCRC 1017


  • Ph.D. University of Mississippi
  • M.S. University of Mississippi
  • B.S.Ph. University of Mississippi


  • Interim Dean of the School of Pharmacy
  • Interim Executive Director of the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Professor of Pharmacy Administration
  • Research Professor in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences


Dr. Strum’s research interests lie in community pharmacy practice and using marketing and management theories to study the provision, use, and evaluation of pharmaceuticals and pharmacy services. She is interested in health care quality and medication safety, as well as management issues in community pharmacy practice. She has also conducted research related to medication adherence, evaluation of pharmacy benefit designs and pharmacy interventions, patient satisfaction, and prescriber behaviors.


Strum received three degrees from the university, including a Doctorate in Pharmaceutical Sciences with an emphasis in pharmacy administration in 1999. After eight years on the faculty for the College of Pharmacy at the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences, she returned to the university in 2008 as chair and professor in the Department of Pharmacy Administration.

In 2017, she was appointed to her role in the Office of the Provost where she oversees a wide variety of faculty, student and administrative matters such as academic budget, student retention and human resource issues.

During her stint as pharmacy administration chair, she assisted in restructuring the graduate curriculum, as well as helping the department win the university’s Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education award.

She was recognized with the 2015 Duncan Neuhauser Award from the Academy for Healthcare Improvement and the school’s 2016 Faculty Instructional Innovations Award for her role in creating and implementing the teaching tool Educating Pharmacists in Quality, or EPIQ. The resource trains pharmacists and student pharmacists to measure and improve quality in pharmacy care.