Department of BioMolecular Sciences

The University of Mississippi

 

Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Fall 2017 Graduate Student and External Speaker Seminar Series

All Seminars located in TCRC 2066

 Tuesdays at 11 am

 Thursdays at 10 am

Fridays at 3 pm

(Titles will be posted as they become available)

 

 

 

Speaker Title Date
Dr. David Colby Intro. of New Students, Seminar & Graduate Program  August 22, Tuesday
Trisha Dhawan Zebrafish as an in vivo model for xenotransplantation of human breast cancer cells and screening of chemotherapeutic compounds August 29,
Tuesday
Mohamed Albadry Homology model and docking-based virtual screening for small-molecule inhibitors of VISTA-VSIG8 interactions as novel immune checkpoint inhibitors September 1, Friday
No Seminar No Seminar September 5, Tuesday
Abidah Parveen Cyanobacteria as potential heterologous platforms for unlocking cyanobacterial metabolic diversity September 8, Friday
Santu Singha A mechanistic study of the teratogenic potential of 4-O-Methylhonokiol (MH) on Japanese medaka (Oryzias latipes) September 12, Tuesday 
No Seminar No Seminar September 15, Friday
Mohamed Albadry Isolation, Structure Elucidation and Synthesis of Natural Products; Efficient Tools for Dealing with a Needle in a Haystack September 19, Tuesday
Dr. Jimmie Valentine
Medical Pharmacology and Toxicology Consulting
Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus Awardee
Host: BMS
Bringing Science Into the Courtroom September 21
THURSDAY
3:00pm
Omer Fantoukh Isolation of Phytoconstituents from Aspalathus linearis and Moringa oleifera species for Safety and Quality Assessment September 26, Tuesday
Manal Alhusban Tackling the Achilles’ Heel of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Corona Virus (MERS CoV) September 29, Friday
Dr. Walt Chambliss
University of Mississippi
Guest Speaker
Host: David Colby
Life As An Early-Stage Pharmaceutical Research Scientist in the Industry October 3,
Tuesday
Vimal Sharma TBD October 5, Thursday
Surendra Jain TBD October 10, Tuesday
Taghreed Majrashi TBD October 13,
Friday
Abidah Parveen TBD October 17, Tuesday
Disha Prabhu TBD October 20,
Friday
Munia Sowaileh TBD October 24, Tuesday
Omer Fantoukh TBD October 27,
Friday
Amna Adam TBD October 31, Tuesday
Vedanjali Gogineni TBD November 3, Friday
Manal Alhusban TBD November 7, Tuesday
Claire Tran TBD November 10, Friday
Moneerah Alqahtani TBD November 14, Tuesday
Dr. Pablo Caviedes
University of Chile
Guest Speaker
Host: Soumyajit Majumdar
TBD November 16, Thursday
Amna Adam TBD November 17, Friday
Taghreed Majrashi TBD November 21, Tuesday
Disha Prabhu TBD November 28, Tuesday
Cody Wilson
Senior Director at The Coca-Cola Company
Guest Speaker
Host: Kristie Willett
Risk Assessment and Toxicology in the Food Industry November 30, Thursday