Department of BioMolecular Sciences

The University of Mississippi

 

Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Fall 2017 Graduate Student and External Speaker Seminar Series

All Seminars located in TCRC 2066

 Tuesdays at 11 am

 Thursdays at 10 am

Fridays at 3 pm

(Titles will be posted as they become available. Changes are noted in red.)

 

 

 

Speaker Title Date
Dr. David Colby Intro. of New Students, Seminar & Graduate Program  August 22, Tuesday
Trisha Dhawan Zebrafish as an in vivo model for xenotransplantation of human breast cancer cells and screening of chemotherapeutic compounds August 29,
Tuesday
Mohamed Albadry
ORP
Homology model and docking-based virtual screening for small-molecule inhibitors of VISTA-VSIG8 interactions as novel immune checkpoint inhibitors September 1, Friday
No Seminar No Seminar September 5, Tuesday
Abidah Parveen
ORP
Cyanobacteria as potential heterologous platforms for unlocking cyanobacterial metabolic diversity September 8, Friday
Santu Singha A mechanistic study of the teratogenic potential of 4-O-Methylhonokiol (MH) on Japanese medaka (Oryzias latipes) September 12, Tuesday 
No Seminar No Seminar September 15, Friday
Mohamed Albadry Isolation, Structure Elucidation and Synthesis of Natural Products; Efficient Tools for Dealing with a Needle in a Haystack September 19, Tuesday
Dr. Jimmie Valentine
Medical Pharmacology and Toxicology Consulting
Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus Awardee
Host: BMS
Bringing Science Into the Courtroom September 21
THURSDAY
3:00pm
Omer Fantoukh Isolation of Phytoconstituents from Aspalathus linearis and Moringa oleifera species for Safety and Quality Assessment September 26, Tuesday
Manal Alhusban
ORP
Tackling the Achilles’ Heel of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Corona Virus (MERS CoV) September 29, Friday
Dr. Walt Chambliss
University of Mississippi
Guest Speaker
Host: David Colby
Life As An Early-Stage Pharmaceutical Research Scientist in the Industry October 3,
Tuesday
Vimal Sharma
Prospectus
Tapinanthus globiferus, as a source of anticonvulsant and neuroprotective secondary metabolites October 5, Thursday
Surendra Jain
Ph.D. Defense
Development of Phenotypic Drug Discovery Models for Tropical Parasitic Disease October 10, Tuesday
Taghreed Majrashi
ORP
Repurposing Paclitaxel with Drug Combination Strategy to Overcome Drug Resistance in Certain Cancers October 13,
Friday
Abidah Parveen Phytochemical Investigation of Tinospora crispa and Tinospora sinensis for Quality and Safety Assessment October 17, Tuesday
Disha Prabhu
ORP
Role of Brain-Specific Angiogenesis Inhibitor (BAI)-1 in the Aging Brain October 20,
Friday
Munia Sowaileh Fluorinated Organic Molecules for Medicinal Applications October 24, Tuesday
Omer Fantoukh
ORP
Targeting Chemotherapeutic-induced ssDNA Damage Response Pathway via Cruciferous Vegetables-derived Isothiocyanates
as Potential Chemopotentiators in p53-deficient Triple Negative Breast Cancer
October 27,
Friday
Amna Adam Development of Inhibitors for Relevant Enzymes and Assembly of Highly Fluorinated Methylene Groups October 31, Tuesday
Vedanjali Gogineni
Ph.D. Defense
Phytochemical Investigation of Psychoactive Medicinal Plants for the Treatment of Neurological Disorders November 3, Friday
Manal Alhusban Cheminformatic Approach for Deconvolution of Active Compounds in a Complex Mixture: PhytoSERMs in Licorice November 7, Tuesday
Dennis Carty
Ph.D. Defense
Characterizing the Developmental and Reproductive Toxicities of Cannabidiol and Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol November 10, Friday
8:30 am
Claire Tran
ORP
Bisbenzylisoquinoline Alkaloids in N. nucifera – Novel Chemotherapy Potentiators for Hepatocellular Carcinoma November 10, Friday
Mohamed Jihan
Ph.D. Defense
Synthesis, Chemistry, Biological Evaluation and Structure-Activity Relationships of rac- and Chiral 6-Desmethyl-5β-Hydroxy-D-secoartemisinin November 13, Monday
10:00 am
Moneerah Alqahtani A Search for Small Molecule Inhibitors of S100B Cancelled November 14, Tuesday
Dr. Pablo Caviedes
University of Chile
Guest Speaker
Host: Soumyajit Majumdar
A natural compound that inhibits connexin-based hemichannels: A possible therapy for determines limb girdle muscular dystrophy type 2B (LGMD2B) November 16, Thursday
Amna Adam
ORP
Optimization of Cannabidiol and Cannabidivarin for the Treatment of Resistant Seizure Forms of Epilepsy November 17, Friday
10:00 am
Taghreed Majrashi Chemical and Biological Evaluations of Asimina triloba November 21, Tuesday
Tom Sparks
Dow Agrosciences
Guest Speaker
Host: David Colby
Natural Products, Insecticide Discovery and the Thrill of the Chase November 28, Tuesday
Cody Wilson
Senior Director at The Coca-Cola Company
Guest Speaker
Host: Kristie Willett
Risk Assessment and Toxicology in the Food Industry November 30, Thursday
Dr. Krishna Bhat
Assistant Professor, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Guest Speaker
Host: Kristie Willett
TBA December 7, Thursday