Department of BioMolecular Sciences

The University of Mississippi

 

Department of BioMolecular Sciences

Fall 2018 Graduate Student and External Speaker Seminar Series

All Seminars located in TCRC 2066

 Tuesdays at 11 am

 Thursdays at 10:30 am

Fridays at 2 pm

(Titles will be posted as they become available. Changes are noted in red.)

 

 

 

Speaker Title Date
Dr. David Colby Intro. of New Students, Seminar & Graduate Program August 21, Tuesday
Pablo Caviedes, MD, PhD
University of Chile
Institute of Biomedical Sciences (ICBM), Faculty of Medicine

Guest Speaker
Host: David Allen
Tissue microencapsulation in cell transplant therapy. Applications in hypoparathyroidism and type 1 diabetes: Medical and Engineering Challenges August 23,
Thursday
Abidah Parveen Comparative Assessment of Safety and Quality of Tinospora Species- Tinospora crispa and Tinospora sinensis August 28,
Tuesday
No Seminar No Seminar August 30, Thursday
Omer Fantoukh Quality and Safety Assessment of Medicinal Plants Commonly Consumed as Herbal Teas; Rooibos (Aspalathus linearis) and Moringa (Moringa oleifera) September 4, Tuesday
Erik Hodges
ORP
Insulin and IGF-1 in the Aging Brain September 7, Friday
Amna Adam Assembly of Highly Fluorinated Enolates From 3,3,3-Trifluoropropionic Acid September 11, Tuesday
Hao Liu
ORP
The Effect of Heparin Lyase on Gut Microbiome in Pancreatic Carcinoma September 14, Friday
Manal Alhusban Cheminformatic Approach for Deconvolution of Active Compounds in a Complex
Mixture – PhytoSERMs in Licorice
September 18, Tuesday
Barbara Adaikpoh
ORP
Combinatorial Biosynthesis of Glycosylated RiPPs using promiscuous UDP-Glycosyltransferases September 21, Friday
Taghreed Majrashi Chemical and Biological Evaluations of Asimina triloba and Rollinia mucosa September 25, Tuesday
Moneerah Alqahtani
ORP
Targeting Acquired Resistance to CDK4/6 Inhibition Mediated by CCNE1 Amplification with Combination Therapy of HDAC Inhibitor (panobinostat) and CDK4/6 Inhibitor (palbociclib) in pRb+ TNBC September 28, Friday
Disha Prabhu Role of Astrocytic IGF-1 in Regulation of Learning and Memory October 2, Tuesday
Dr. Thomas Werfel
University of Mississippi
Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering

Guest Speaker
Host: John Rimoldi
Targeted Therapies at the Interface of Nanotechnology and Cancer Biology October 4,
Thursday
Shukria Akbar
ORP
Investigation and Heterologous Production of Nonribosomal Peptides Associated with Bacterial Microbiome of Ambrosiodmus lecontei Beetle October 5, Friday
Claire Tran Exploring Anticancer Potential of Plant Extracts Belonging to Annonaceae Family October 9, Tuesday
Amber Kay
ORP
Therapeutic Effects of Adipose-derived Stem Cell Secretome on the Deposition of Advanced Glycation End-products After Myocardial Infarction October 12, Friday
Dr. Noelle C. Anastasio
University of Texas Medical Branch
Guest Speaker
Host: Jason Paris
Serotonin: Glutamate Synergy in Substance Use Disorder Relapse-Related Behaviors October 16,
Tuesday
Coy Waller Lecture
Dr. Mahmoud ElSohly
University of Mississippi
Research Professor
Professor of Pharmaceutics
Building on the Legacy of Coy Waller at Ole Miss October 19, Friday
11:00 am
The Ford Center
Niloofar Khaje
ORP
Determining the Effect of Phosphorylation on Rabies Phosphoprotein (P) Structure and Ability to Interact with Other Proteins October 19, Friday
Barbara Adaikpoh Myxobacterial Perception, Degradation, and Transformation of Exogenous Environmental Quorum Signals October 23, Tuesday
AyoOluwa Aderbigbe
ORP
Computer-aided Design of Cell-active Chemical Probes and Modulators of Poly (ADP-ribose) Glycohydrolase for the Treatment of Homologous Recombinant Repair Deficient Cancer October 26, Friday
Shukria Akbar Establishing Myxobacteria-Pseudomonas Ecological Model Systems October 30, Tuesday
Mohammed Riaz
ORP
Developing Enterobactin and PR73SH as Neuroprotective Agents to Treat Parkinson’s Disease (PD) November 2, Friday
Niloofar Khaje Current Applications of HRPF-FPOP and Development of Methods November 6, Tuesday
Dr. John Bentley
University of Mississippi
Chair, Professor of Pharmacy Administration & Marketing

Guest Speaker
Host: Jason Paris
Application of Statistical Methods November 8,
Thursday
AyoOluwa Aderbigbe Computational Search for Antagonists of the Cannabinoid CB1 Receptor November 13, Tuesday
Mohammed Hawwal
ORP
An isoflavone metabolite as a potential cause of biliary atresia November 16, Friday
Hao Liu Develop Strategies for Heparin/Heparan Sulfate Oligosaccharides Fractionation November 20, Tuesday
Mohammed Riaz Mass Spectrometry as a Molecular Screening and Quality Control Technique November 27, Tuesday
Mohammed Hawwal Phytochemical Investigation of Mimosa pigra November 29, Thursday